To lace or not to lace?

I have been seeing a lot of DIY makeovers and new creations with lace. I had never been fond of the stuff….it reminds me of grandmothers doilies, 80s fashion gone wrong and fluffy formals from a thrift store.

But I do have to say that the new renditions of this fabric in other elements seems to work! Now I just have to apply it to something that I want to create. Thinking of a black and white, vintagey trivet that could hang out on the dining room table (without having to worry about starching it or making sure it doesn’t slide around). I have also been looking at the idea of using fabric with resin applied to tiles….not sure how this would work, but I am willing to give it a try!

About shadedlinescreations

I have been interested in the arts for longer than I can remember. I can’t dance, I can’t sing….so that just left creating something tangible and aesthetically pleasing. Having a bachelor’s in graphic communications, I’ve worked as a graphic designer or creative director for the past 10 years. I have now decided to branch out and embrace 3D design…something in college I completely didn’t understand and hated going to the class! However, rather than covering chairs in crayons or fabricating statues out of cardboard, I have chosen to create items that can be used and treasured for years to come. Each tile, coaster or piece that you see in the gallery or on my etsy store has been customized, and can even feature your own personal images if you so desire. So look around, get some ideas and let me take them to the next level by actually making them for you!
This entry was posted in New Creations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To lace or not to lace?

  1. I’m intrigued by the fabric and resin bit…I would LOVE to see how that turns out. Your blog is really interesting!

  2. 7cakes says:

    Wow! Sounds fun! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog =D I love yours! The fabric on tiles thing is a neat idea. I’ve never thought of anything like that. You might (or might not) be interested in this idea… I’ve been thinking about sewing a bunch of different doilies together and then putting a solid fabric behind that to make a curtain. Anyways, cool post =D

Leave a comment