Making molds and patiently waiting…..or not so patient…

Now that I have a few PMC items done and know a little bit more on how the materials work and the options for using the clay, I, of course, want to make more pieces!! I know the clay can  be stamped with anything to create an imprint, but now want to make charms that I can sell or customize for someone else.

I went to my local craft store and sought someone that had some experience with PMC clay and molds (even though they don’t sell the clay anymore! grrr) Walked away with a box of mix-a-mold and proceeded (for the next few hours) to try to make it work….and trying not to pull out my hair!! The powdery mix combined with water kept giving me a lumpy dough like texture which is NOT suitable for mold making.

Soooo, back to the computer and more research, I found Amazing Putty….and its truly amazing!! This stuff is so easy to mix, imprint and definitely holds it shape and detail for whatever you use it for (clay for now….but maybe resin later!)

Amazing Putty molds

I’ve made a few molds and put the clay to work….now, to PATIENTLY wait for firing in a few days….. I’m certainly not the most patient person, but I’m crossing my fingers (and toes) that the outcome is worth the wait:)

About shadedlinescreations

I have been interested in the arts for longer than I can remember. I can’t dance, I can’t sing….so that just left creating something tangible and aesthetically pleasing. Having a bachelor’s in graphic communications, I’ve worked as a graphic designer or creative director for the past 10 years. I have now decided to branch out and embrace 3D design…something in college I completely didn’t understand and hated going to the class! However, rather than covering chairs in crayons or fabricating statues out of cardboard, I have chosen to create items that can be used and treasured for years to come. Each tile, coaster or piece that you see in the gallery or on my etsy store has been customized, and can even feature your own personal images if you so desire. So look around, get some ideas and let me take them to the next level by actually making them for you!
This entry was posted in New Creations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

